Grit to Great by Linda Kaplan Thaler & Robin Koval

Guts. Resilience. Initiative. Tenacity. These are the 4 quality of Grit that are laid out in Grit to Great by Linda Kaplan Thaler & Robin Koval by Linda Kaplan Thaler and Robin Koval. Their combination as well as perseverance, passion and pluck move from ordinary to extra-ordinary.

I appreciated the authors emphasis on sheer hard work. Push through and persevere. The temptation too often is to hit a road block and turn back, they inspire one to move forward.

Yet my biggest turn off to the book was stories of sheer hard work. 24 hour days. No matter what it takes. It felt as if I took their advice family would be left in the dust. Drink more caffeine make keep you awake, but will it keep you going for the long haul?

The prescriptions of grit in the book seemed to fit best in seasons of work more than a lifestyle of sustaining work. I was impressed by the accomplishments of their underdog ad agency in outworking the competition. I just didn’t see that as a healthy model for a sustainable life.

You might think by those comments I didn’t like the book, but I loved the book. The quotes at the beginning of each chapter provided inspiration. The stories in each chapter provided direction. The grit builder exercises at the end of the book provided application.

Best of all when I was done with the book I felt I had some tools for building grit in my life: stop the excuses, Do your to-do list.Have a hundred year plan with a series of goals for every five or ten years of one’s life. Prioritize the things you want to accomplish at different stages of life.

If you want to get fired up with grit, good book to read. Go to grittogreat.com and take the grit test (I’m a grit master, but not a grit superstar).

For myself it was also important to remember the need for grit in what ultimately matters in my life — faith and family. Those areas need grit to be great even more than work accomplishments.

I give Grit to Great 4 out of 5 stars. Well-written, grit building, inspiring, but a bit workaholic at points.

My thanks to Blogging for Books for a free copy of Grit to Great to review. I wasn’t required to give a positive review just an honest one.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

