Book Review: The Hope Quotient by Ray Johnston

The Hope Quotient by Ray Johnston is an invitation to discover the power of hope in all of life. When you discover that power, you discover the power to Thrive. Ray not only describes hope that goes beyond wishful thinking to powerful living, he also lays out how such hope power can be part of one’s daily life. To thrive hope is a necessity, not an option.

As Ray puts it, “Hope is more than just an emotion you feel; it’s a state of being you create.”

Part of that hope creation is figuring out how God refuels you. That’s why this book was such a great vacation read, it refueled my hope.

Ray not only writes about hope, he motivates readers like me to build such hope into our lives. His hope building tools flow out of his teaching of God’s Word intersecting with his life experiences (good and bad) and seasoned with great stories, quotes and a dash of humor.

One of my favorite tools he shares is the need for a Soul Sharpener in live. Based on Solomon’s wise words in Proverbs 27:17, “As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” A Soul Sharpener helps you develop spiritually willing to push you to be your best in the spiritual arena of life. I find that arena to be the core of who I am and where my life aligns best with who God desires to make me to be.

The area that helped me build more hope into my life was Ray’s challenge to replace burnout with balance. His 7 questions provided a good grid to take a step back and reassess my pace and build in practices and habits to refuel for hope.

I give The Hope Quotient 5 out of 5 stars. Ray not only has an engaging writing style, he shares a powerful message. Your hope quotient will go up reading this book. Even more you’ll pick up tools to keep that hope quotient up each day. My thanks to Book Look Bloggers and Thomas Nelson for a free copy to review. I wasn’t required to give a positive review just an honest one.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

