Book Review: A Dream So Big by Steve Peifer

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. Easy to say, tough to live. Especially when the lemon is the death of your son. Yet Steve Peifer and his family have done more than made lemonades, they make a difference. And there story is a great story to read that will lead you to make a difference as well.

In A Dream So Big by Steve Peifer with Greg Lewis, Steve tells his family’s unlikely journey to end the tears of hunger, to transform the nation of Kenya (kenyakidscan.org). After reading this book (and you should want to read this book), you will want to subscribe to the weekly updates.

I received this book as a gift with a request to review. Without a deadline that meant it kept getting pushed down the pile as I had other required books to review. I wish I had put this one higher up the list. A Dream So Big is not only inspirational, it gives great hope.

Steve and his family share their journey in grief and hope with humility and humor. Throughout the book are excerpts of his weekly emails home as well as personal reflections with moments of honest frustration and a growing faith.

Having been to Kenya before I enjoyed Steve’s observation on Kenya life. They brought back some great memories. As I read of his family trials, I found myself moved. As he shared his vision to first feed hungry students throughout Kenya and then to provide computer lab access to gain job skills to escape poverty I found myself rejoicing how God works so powerfully in one life to touch so many.

Yet A Dream So Big is more than one family’s story, the book also points to each of our stories. The nuggets of lessons learned along the way are not true merely for Steve but for wise readers provide great insight to embracing the gift of life.

Here are some quotes that fed my soul along the way:

“I came here to see Africa. But Africa makes me see myself — as I really am.”

“Africa can break your heart, but it is full of people who made something beautiful out of so little.”

“I have to wonder how much I am like Africa: what are the treasures in my life that I don’t recognize, appreciate, or protect?”

“When you are where you are supposed to be, things work out.”

“I am reminded once again. I can trust God’s plan for my life.”

I give A Dream So Big 5 out of 5 stars. If you are in the midst of grief, this book will give you a hope. If you are looking for purpose in your life, this story will guide you to have the courage to take the next step. If you want to be reminded that God is alive,well and active in this world, this book will give you great faith.

Thanks to Zondervan for a free copy to review. I wasn’t required to give any review, but appreciate the opportunity to review this great book.

1 Comment

Filed under Leadership Book Reviews

One response to “Book Review: A Dream So Big by Steve Peifer

  1. Kathy Johonson

    Great review pastor. I’ll be reading this one before our trip to Burundi!

Leave a Reply

