Book Review: The Me I Want to Be by John Ortberg

You know a book is great when you read it twice and it hits a home run each time. The first time I read The Me I Want to Be by John Ortberg was on a plane flight from San Diego to Chicago. The extra hour waiting for the plane to take off provided a good time to sit down and enjoy a good book, and a good one this one is. By the time we landed time had indeed flown by as I was committed to living life out of the flow of the Holy Spirit.

The second time I read The Me I Want to Be was as part of a staff devotional study — a chapter a week for 22 weeks. That sounds like drudgery to a speed reader like me, but even at a slow, deliberate pace there was that moment each week I sense the Spirit speaking, found myself laughing and learning. Because that’s why I love John Ortberg’s books, he makes me laugh, he leads me to learn, he calls me to the great life that God intended.

My only criticism of The Me I Want to Be is the title. I like the subtitle better: Becoming God’s Best Version of You. The title puts the focus on me, while the subtitle puts the focus on God. The Me I too often want to be is a cheaper cut of becoming God’s best version of me. 

I give The Me I Want to Be 5 out of 5 stars. It is a great read, even more it is a life transforming read. As John says, “God wants to redeem you, not exchange you.” Or my favorite word of the book God wants to make you, “you-ier”This is a great book for individuals and small groups. As one person in our all staff study put it, “Some times I don’t understand the books you pick, but this one was your best ever.” I agree. I think you will too. Check out a sample of The Me I Want to Be here. Even more pick up a copy of the book and become God’s best version of a you-ier you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Leadership Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

