Book Review: Quiet by Susan Cain

Man of contemplation? Man of action? Reading Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain, I discovered that I am both.

I expected to learn more about my introvert side, and discovered that I was more extroverted than I expected. The book deals with the high introvert often by contrasting it with the high extrovert, and the benefit for me was learning how each is at work in my own life as well as the lives of those I associate with on a regular basis.

Quiet explained my love for reading and why it is so energizing, or why I like to stay on the sides of parties and not in the middle, or how I am able to overcome stage fright by focusing on areas of passion when speaking/teaching. Quiet also showed I had more of an extrovert side than I expected, how it is easier to meet a couple people at a time than a crowd, and how I do love to communicate.

Quiet also explained how to leverage meetings when seeking to be creative, how to involve the introvert and channel the extrovert.

Quiet

Susan Cain is part of the 1/3 of people in this world who would be defined as an introvert. Her passion to learn more what made her tick is a great read for discovering how each one of us function at our best in this world.

The challenge in American society is we have swapped the Culture of Character for the Culture of Personality, and the Culture of Personality favors the life of the extrovert. So in an extrovert world introverts are wrongly pushed to be pseudo-extroverts.

That’s why I loved Quiet, it helped me to see how to leverage the parts of my life that draw on my introvert side and even those parts of my life that flow out of my extrovert approach.

The Extra Libris section of the book (what I call the “bonus section”) provides specific tips for leveraging one’s introversion tendencies as well as guides for parents and teachers in leveraging children’s introversion.

I give Quiet 5 out of 5 stars. Well-researched, even more well-written, and best of all, Quiet provided direct application to my life. My thanks to BloggingforBooks for providing a free copy to review. I wasn’t required to give a positive review just an honest one. 

If you want to learn more about Susan Cain and her introversion insights from Quiet, check out her TED talk, one of the highest rated and one of Bill Gates favorites by clicking here.

So where are your strengths on the introversion-extroversion scale? How are you learning to leverage them in your day to day life?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

