Book Review: gods at war by Kyle Idleman

gods at war by Kyle Idleman has all the traits I love in a good book: Humor, every day stories, practical insights and Biblical truth with daily application. Just one challenge to this read — it turns out Kyle had me looking into a mirror to see the gods at war in my own soul, and the war I too often fight with the God who wins over all.

We tend to think of idolatry as the Old Testament sin or the sin of those that worship in far away countries. But idolatry is alive and well in our day,  in our culture, in our hearts. Kyle points out how this is the number one issue. Idolatry isn’t an issue, it’s the issue.

All of us worship, it’s simply a question of what do you worship? And if anything but the true God fills that worship part of your soul, then you are in the midst of gods at war.

When something that is good that God has given becomes your god, then you have gods at war. Turns out that God’s greatest gifts are his greatest test and Satan’s greatest tool for gods at war.

And of all the gods at war, the god of me is the most relentless idol of them all. The god of me is my worst one, that’s why I was a bit surprised it was the last one.

The first part of the book lays out the concept of gods at war, while parts 2-4 look at the temples of power, pleasure and love. Throughout parts 2 -4 at the end of the chapters, Kyle lays out the Idol Id, a chance to take a closer look to see if this god is at war within me. I especially appreciated the repeated emphasis, “Idols are defeated not by being removed but by being replaced.”

To win gods at warthe true God must have His rightful place in my life. Even then the war continues, for gods at war are always at war. They have not given up. The battle is still for your heart and my heart. Throughout the book are real stories of battles won with gods at war.

I give gods at war 5 out of 5 stars. Well written, loved the * comments throughout the book that added humor, and even more I needed the content to see the battle and to see how to win the battle of gods at war.

My thanks to BookSneeze and Zondervan for a free copy to review. I wasn’t required to give a positive review, just an honest one. I highly recommend gods at war for a good look at your own heart and even more as a path for growth with the God who wins the war through Jesus Christ.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

