Book Review: Altar Ego by Craig Groeschel

“When you know who you are, you’ll know what to do,” says Craig Groeschel . He not only states that as the theme in Altar Ego, he shows how such a statement can be lived in becoming who God says you are. Part of the challenge is laying down our own wrong self images and picking up God’s image, your “Altar Ego“. Yes, your ego may need to be altered, but that happens at God’s altar, not the world’s.

Craig in his usual humorous, transparent, conversational way lays out this tremendous gift of seeing who you are from God’s point of view, and taking up your new identity in Christ. Altar Ego is more than getting a good self-image, it is discovering your God-given Christ image of your life.

The book is laid in 3 parts:

1. Sacrificing Your False Self for Your Sacred Identity in Christ

This section featured my favorite chapter in the book — Chapter 2: You are God’s Masterpiece. Working from Ephesians 2, Craig says, “The way God made you is not by chance or accident. You are divinely inspired.” Your life is a work made by God through the gift of His Son Jesus.

Or this quote, “If you don’t know the purpose of your life, all you can do is misuse it.” God has a better plan, a greater purpose, that is found in God’s Word, in God’s presence, in the power of God’s spirit at work in one’s life.

2. Sacrificing Cultural Relativity for Eternal Values

Here Craig looks at living life with patience, integrity, honor and gratitude. Though I know the value of these 4 in living life, Craig painted a picture of how to take some next steps in my life to give greater honor, to lift up the value of gratitude. For example, I knew that honor means to consider something or someone valuable or “weighty” in your life. When Craig pointed out that we tend to dishonor when we treat someone as common in our life, that opened my eyes to moving from taking others for granted to rejoicing in the gift of grace God has given me in them.

In the area of gratitude when Craig contrasted our cultural view of entitlement and how that leads to a lack of gratitude. I love when he wrote, “I’ve always found it interesting that people ask why bad things happen to them, but the rarely ask why good things happen to them.” That immediately  moved me to take time to be grateful for God’s amazing grace and bountiful blessings in my life.

3. Sacrificing Self-Justification for Passionate Obedience

The key word in this section is BOLD! Bold Behavior! Bold Prayers! Bold Words! Bold Obedience! Craig challenged me to move out of my comfort zone into the life God has called me. The chapter on Bold Prayers led me to examine my own prayer life and to ask God for what only He can do. I realized how small my prayer requests had become and have started to see them stretch to what God desires to do.

As Craig says, “You want to make a big and bold difference in this world? Then pray big, bold prayers.”

I give Altar Ego 5 out of 5 stars. What a great read for not only taking a look inside one’s own soul, but even more catching a glimpse upward to God and who He can make you and me to be, and catching a vision outward of His transformational work in us and through us.

My thanks to Booksneeze.com and Zondervan for a free copy of Altar Ego to review. I wasn’t required to give a positive review, just an honest one. And honestly, this is a great read! If you want to read an opening sample and find out for yourself click here.

1 Comment

Filed under Book Review

One response to “Book Review: Altar Ego by Craig Groeschel

  1. Pingback: Free Audio Interview with Craig Groeschel and Kyle Idleman | gregtaylor.org

Leave a Reply

