2 Words from a Day of Reflection

It had been a while since I have taken a day to simply get away and reflect on my relationship with God. I had missed the time of renewal, rest, and restoration.

Though my schedule at this time of year feels like having to run a marathon sprint, I was wise enough to recognize that when an invitation came to attend Point Loma Nazarene University’s Pastors Reflection Retreat, I needed to attend because my schedule was so busy and I needed to reconnect with who God is and who He is making me to be.

File:PL-amphitheater.jpg

PLNU Amphitheater by David Ball.Mactographer at en.wikipedia [Attribution], from Wikimedia Commons

The day featured good food along the way (that was an added bonus). Incredible ocean views (that’s the beauty of San Diego and God’s creation). Extended times of silence, a place for rest and reflection (that’s why I came). I greatly appreciated the invitation to spend the day in Romans 8 and the handout that provided insights, questions, and extended space to simply be in this great chapter and ask the Holy Spirit to speak into one’s life.

I didn’t find the next great sermon series though a few ideas popped up along the way. No dramatic next step break through, but a simple gift of 2 words that leapt off the page as I read Romans 8:15-16 from The Message paraphrase, “This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life. It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike “What’s next, Papa?” God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are. We know who he is, and we know who we are: Father and children.”

Exhaustion and overload lead to a timid, grave-tending life. The commitment to bring it each day, to bring my best, calls for divine presence and power, and an attitude towards life that is Adventurously Expectant.

I fell in love with those words and even better I desire to live them out this day and every day. Where are you finding yourself adventurously expectant in living life?

Leave a comment

Filed under Leadership in the Bible

Leave a Reply

