Book Review: 40 Days to a Joy-Filled Life by Tommy Newberry

Who wouldn’t want joy, especially joy that grows, develops, and transforms  one’s life? Based on Philippians 4:8, I thought this book would be merely think good thoughts, it was so much more.

Tommy Newberry in 40 Days to a Joy-Filled Life provided practical steps and tools to build joy in my life. After 40 days I found myself more joyful, more hopeful, and more resilient in living life.

He doesn’t deny the existence of problems as too many self-help gurus do. He provides practical steps for building life through the best and the worst.

Looking for a great book to start off your new year with some positive steps of growth? Check out 40 Days to a Joy-Filled Life. Tommy provides not only good words, but good reflection questions and even more some next steps and daily prayers to harvest a crop of joy in living.

Each daily reading was a good realignment to joy in my life. Some of my favorites were Day 11, “Harboring Gratitude” and the Joy of Appreciation and Day 17: Hunting Rats: The Joy of Being Battle Ready and my absolute favorite was Day 40, Occupy God Street: The Joy of His Presence.

Now that I am in day 41 and beyond, I look forward to living a joy-filled life and am grateful to have a joy-filled resource to return to time and again.

I give 40 Days to a Joy-Filled Life 5 out of 5 stars. Thanks Tommy for building my Joy reservoir, hopefully to overflowing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Leadership Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

