Book Review: The Secrets of Biblical Wisdom by Kyle Searcy

“Do you know that wisdom is a vibrant, powerful force that can change your life right now — and will if you release it?” So asks Kyle Searcy, and his answer to that question is in his latest book, The Secrets of Biblical Wisdom.

Searcy’s goal is for readers to develop a hunger for wisdom, for wisdom to become one’s primary pursuit.

Throughout my life I have desired to be wise. The Disney song I learned in elementary school in Florida, “I’m no fool, no sirree, I’m going to live to by 103” drilled that desire into my head. So has reading Proverbs on an annual basis.

My favorite part of the book are the numerous prayers for wisdom throughout each chapter. Most authors save that for the end of the chapter. I like that Kyle included that as he finished section. They are the best takeaways for me from the book.

His use of “decrees” confused me a bit. The wording in the first chapter of “As I have decressed, I believe you will perform these things” left me uncomfortable. I felt as if my wisdom, my words were forcing God’s words. The rest of the book these decrees are more requests, but the first one almost had me putting the book down.

I was also a bit surprised that I don’t remember reading anywhere that great quote from Proverbs that “the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom.”  For me that’s foundational and I expected to see that emphasized more.

The strongest part of the book looked at the relationship of wisdom, knowledge and attitude. Kyle weaved these 3 together well, especially in how they make my application of wisdom stronger in my life.

Some of the strongest teaching was in the area of dealing with enemies. The stories he told of Dr. King and Mother Teresa moved me, and taught me the role of wisdom and love together in every day life.

I give The Secrets of Biblical Wisdom 3 out of 5 stars. If you have never read about wisdom, this is a good place to start. The prayers are a great resource to grow in wisdom. The questions for meditation and practical tips help move the wisdom lessons or secrets from theory to practice.

My thanks to Chosen Books for a copy to review. I was not required to give a positive review, just an honest one.

1 Comment

Filed under Leadership Book Reviews

One response to “Book Review: The Secrets of Biblical Wisdom by Kyle Searcy

  1. Pingback: SEEK THE SWEET AROMA OF WISDOM (PART ONE) « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com

Leave a Reply

