Book Review: Grace by Max Lucado

One of my favorite Biblical words by one of my favorite authors proves to be a great combination in Max Lucado’s book, Grace: More Than We Deserve Greater Than We Can Imagine.

The picture of grace that Max paints with his words and even more with God’s Word is a masterpiece to read, to enjoy and to be inspired.

Here’s a couple Max quotes that stuck out for me:

“If hurts were hairs, we’d all look like grizzlies.”

“Your heart is a Dixie cup, and his grace is the Mediterranean Sea. You simply can’t contain it all. So let it bubble over. Spill out. Pour forth.”

This why I love Max’s writing, not only for his incredible style, but his powerful substance. Max sees the grizzly size problems of our world, and of the greater solution God in His grace brings.

And if a boatload of Max quotes isn’t enough, each chapter starts off with great Scripture quotes and great quotes of grace giants.

Like Max’s other books, this is an easy read, an enjoyable one, a life building one. In addition to Max’s 11 chapters on grace plus conclusion, there is a reader’s guide to go a bit deeper, to ponder a bit more, and to share the journey with a small group or a friend.

I was moved by Max’s openness about his own present day sins and his own experience of grace. He is creative enough to come up with an incredible story to illustrate God’s grace, and yet even more powerfully he writes not only of his past, but of his need (and mine as well) of God’s grace for present day sins as in Chapter 7: Coming Clean with God.

I give Grace 5 out of 5 stars. The title alone had me. The chapters grabbed me. Like a great movie, I laughed, I cried, I was moved to think. Like a great book I was inspired to thank God for His incredible grace and even more empowered to live out that grace in relationship with others. I highly recommend you do the same.

Thanks to Thomas Nelson and their BookSneeze program for a free copy to review. I was thrilled to secure a free copy and for the opportunity to review another Max Lucado classic. I encourage you to pick up a copy, find a cozy chair, a good cup of coffee and get rid for a great, grace-filled, grace giving read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

