Can You Answer 5 Great Questions from God?

Michael Hyatt says, “Questions are powerful tools. They can ignite hope and lead to new insights. They can also destroy hope and keep us stuck in bad assumptions. The key is to be intentional and choose our questions well.”

While walking the other day, I thought about the questions God asks us and came up with 5 from the Bible. Set aside some time to spend  with God and see what answers the Holy Spirit speaks into your heart.

Coronado — A Great Place to Ponder the Questions of Life

Question 1: Where are you? (Genesis 3:9)

Adam and Eve stumble in the Garden of Eden. What God said not to do, they do. They end up hiding from God, and God asks, “Where are you?” Part of solving any problem is first realizing whether you are headed in the right direction or not. Sometimes to get to where I want to go, I need to know where I am. Even tougher I admit, I am not in the right place. Repentance is to confess I am headed in the wrong direction, and I need to turn around.

Question 2: What are you doing here? (1 Kings 19:9, 13)

This one is such an important question of the burned out prophet Elijah, God asks him twice, “What are you doing here?” On the fast track of life, it’s good to come up for air and to listen to God, listen to your heart. Am I still on purpose? What am I accomplishing? How did I end up in this place? Do I know what is happening in my life and why? What am I doing here?

Question 3: Who do you say I am? (Matthew 16:15)

Jesus asks this question of his disciples. His initial question is “Who do people say the Son of Man is?” His important question for his disciples and for us is, “Who do you say I am?” That answer has eternal implications. The right answer speaks of Jesus as the Son of God, and seeks to understand what that means for life. Americans tend to define God in their own image, God  invites us to see who He is in the image of Jesus — His life, death and resurrection.

Question 4: What do you want me to do for you? (Mark 10:51)

Jesus asks this question of blind Bartimaeus. The obvious answer has to be, “I want to see.” And for Bartimaeus that is the answer he gives. Yet Jesus still asks him the question. He still asks us as well, “What do you want me to do for you?” I find praying through this question seeks to clarify what I am pursing in life and what my desires are in life.

Question 5: Why do you look for the living among the dead? (Luke 24:5)

Technically this is a question the angels ask the women who come to the empty tomb on Easter. God sends the angels and the message, so I give Him credit for the question. When I look at how to answer this question it invites me to look at my priorities — am I pursuing that which gives life or am I trying to find life in those things that lead to death?

I’m still working on my list of 5 questions, and need your help. As you read the Bible what questions do you discover God asking? What answers is He giving you today?

1 Comment

Filed under Leadership in the Bible

One response to “Can You Answer 5 Great Questions from God?

  1. A good exercise for deeper thinking. Thanks for sharing, Richard.

Leave a Reply

