The Lift Project: The Leader’s Soul — “Two Chairs”

I couldn’t help but notice the shiny wooden table with the two chairs. I wondered what’s up with that? Just my favorite part of week 2 of the Leader’s Soul, an online class from the Lift Project as Mindy Caliguire shared in the video teaching, “Two Chairs”.

In a family, when you gather around a table people bring different things. One person brings cooking skills to the table, another brings eating skills to the table. A young baby brings potential to the table, a grandparent brings experience.

We are saved by God’s grace. The Holy Spirit convicts us of our sin, points us to our Savior, and grants us the gift of faith. New life comes by His action, not ours. With this gift of life He gives, we are invited to come to the table and to grow our soul, to grow our life.

What’s at this table where the Holy Spirit invites us is something unique, your soul being restored, your life being conformed to Christ. Salvation happens all at once, spiritual growth happens over time. Sometimes its slow. Sometimes it feels so small. Sometimes you feel as if you are growing by leaps and bounds. But God invites you to come to the table of your life, of your soul.

In one chair at the table is God’s seat. And what does God bring to the table of your life? We could be here for eternity answering this, but here are some highlights, God brings knowledge of you. He knows you better then you know yourself.

Because God knows me so well, God brings grace and forgiveness. In the Book of Acts, we learn God the Holy Spirit brings power, power to come to faith as God’s gift, power to transform your life. Only God has the power to shape / reshape who we are down to the  core of our being. The power of His grace, the power of His love, the power to transform, so how often do you think God is in this chair? Philippians 2:12-13 teaches God is always at work and Philippians 1:6 reminds me what God began He will bring to completion. What God works in, you are invited to work out.

God brings all this good stuff. What about you and me? When I take the second seat at the table my list is not that impressive. I get to bring my sin, my brokenness, hopefully my openness to God’s direction. I ask, “Holy Spirit, what do you want me to do?” Not for His advice, but that I surrender to His will. I want to live out His will. As unimpressive as my contribution is to the table of my life, I still must bring it to Him.

One other great point that Mindy makes is that when we come into a relationship with God we’re eager to run the race of faith. Let’s say the room you are in is God’s family, this is your table to sit with God, but we’re eager to run the race. So we are always on the run, sometimes for worthy causes like serving others, sometimes running away for selfish causes that pull us away from God.

If I am always run for good causes (and I’m not), if I just run on my own power with even the best of intentions I will find myself exhausted. I will not go the distance, I will go down. So today, right now, commit to take your seat at the table, look to the God who loves you, ask, “Holy Spirit, what do you want me to do?”

With all the bad stuff we bring and all the good stuff God brings, this table is open to all of us. Jesus died for all of us and wants to be in a living relationship. Realize the living Holy Spirit in your heart, mind and soul. It’s the table of your life. Stopping run, have a seat, and ask moment by moment this week, “Holy Spirit, what do you want me to do?”

Amazingly that’s just one part of the class from week 2, there was also a great article by Dallas Willard, “Spiritual Formation as a Natural Part of Salvation” as well as an another video by Mindy that provided an introduction to spiritual transformation, add the great forum discussion and it was another great week to develop my soul and hopefully yours. Perhaps next time around you will be part of the class, and share your insights with me.

3 Comments

Filed under LIFT Project

3 responses to “The Lift Project: The Leader’s Soul — “Two Chairs”

  1. Devon Kline

    Richard,
    Thank you for your insightful reflection on the Leader’s Soul. Your summary reminds me to simply arrive at the table and receive what God has. Looking forward to more great reflections!

  2. Thanks Richard -powerful illustration of the two chairs as we sit across from GOD! crazy timing too 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Lift Project: The Leader’s Soul — Replenish | Richard Burkey

Leave a Reply

