Soul Food for Friday: The JFK Question to Ask

One Christmas I got a reel to reel tape player for Christmas. Yes, I am from the stone age. One of the tapes that came with it was John Kennedy’s inauguration address. I listened to that speech hundreds of times. I even have it on my Ipod. Kennedy could turn a phrase.

Visiting the eternal flame that marks his grave at Arlington Cemetery, I was reminded again of one of my favorite quotes from his inauguration and this week’s Soul Food for Friday: “Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country.”

JFK Gravestone at Arlington Cemetery by Sharon Burkey

That applies to churches, to marriages, to the leadership you bring to each situation. The question is not what I get, but what I give. And that question makes all the difference.

In case you want to watch/listen to more of John Kennedy’s speeches, check out http://www.presidency.ucsb.edu/medialist.php?presid=35.

So where do you need to ask yourself what you can do to make a difference?

Leave a comment

Filed under Leadership and America, Leadership Quotes

Leave a Reply

