Strength in Weakness, Weakness in Strength

Reading through the Bible this year has led me to Paul’s famous words in 2 Corinthians 12:7b-107bTherefore, to keep me from becoming conceited, I am forced to deal with a recurring problem. That problem, Satan’s messenger, torments me to keep me from being conceited.8I begged the Lord three times to take it away from me. 9But he told me: “My kindness is all you need. My power is strongest when you are weak.” So I will brag even more about my weaknesses in order that Christ’s power will live in me. 10Therefore, I accept weakness, mistreatment, hardship, persecution, and difficulties suffered for Christ. It’s clear that when I’m weak, I’m strong.

Isn’t that the exact opposite of what we think in this world? We look for strength and how to become stronger. Paul looks for God’s strength even though Paul will feel weaker.

Mount Everest flight by Dana Burkey

The strength in weakness benefit I have discovered is dependence. I lean strong into God when I am weak. If it’s to be, I discovered it’s not always up to me, it’s up to Him. And He is up for the task.

The weakness in strength can be I forget the God who made me. I forget the God who gave me that strength.

So where do you see His strength in weakness? And perhaps even more necessary to answer, what strength that is not His are you leaning into and you need to turn to Him?

1 Comment

Filed under Leadership in the Bible

One response to “Strength in Weakness, Weakness in Strength

  1. Pingback: Ezekiel 15 | This Day With God

Leave a Reply

