Great Read: Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You’ve Only Heard About

Back cover of Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson’s book, “Rumors of God“, says “Life is busy. We live like slaves to our fast-paced, suffocating schedules.” What they don’t say, but I will is sometimes amid fast pace schedules we make glorious mistakes.

That’s how I got this book. It was a glorious mistake. Got a deal at the Global Leadership Summit that included picking up 3 books. I had my strategy laid out. I got 2 out of 3 in my strategy. I thought I had gotten the 3rd one as well. I was a bit shocked when I got home and found in my bag Rumors of God instead of the book I thought I was getting. Not that I had low expectations for something by Darren Whitehead, I listen to Willow podcasts. He’s a great communicator of God’s Word. I just thought I needed the other book.

Rumors of God

So glad God thought otherwise. Rumors of God is a great read. They both bring God’s Word to life and apply it to life today, a post-Christian culture that still needs the incredible promise of life God gives in Jesus Christ. Of all the books I’ve read in the last year, this one had the most illustrations that I will file away and use. Great quotes. Great illustrations. Great truths from God’s Word. All 3 are present and so much more.

They declare in the opening author’s note: “We wrote this book because we love the church. Many have the sense that the greatest days of the church are in the past. We humbly disagree. This book is our small rebellion against that notion.” May that rebellion grow. I want to be part of the revolution that brings a living faith that passionately transforms lives to be like Christ.

The “rumors” they look at our signs that God’s kingdom work is still at work and growing! Rumors of Life, Dreams, Generosity, Love, Grace, Freedom and so much more. God is alive well and active.

The heartbeat of hope beats strong in these pages. The invitation to experience an intimate faith calls forth a life transformed, a life well lived.

Once again God shows he knows better. One day I’ll pick up that other book, but so glad God led me down this path to God’s work in this world and in my life.

Where have you been surprised by God knowing better lately?

3 Comments

Filed under Leadership Book Reviews

3 responses to “Great Read: Rumors of God: Experience the Kind of Faith You’ve Only Heard About

  1. Richard, you’ve whetted my reading appetite with your review. Thanks for bringing the book to my attention.–Tom

  2. Ditto. I missed this book at the conf. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Rumors of God Book Review | The Journey

Leave a Reply

