Romans 1:16 A Life Revealing Verse

If you go on a short-term mission trip, most people in trying to find the right words to say before you leave, will typically say, “This will be a life changing opportunity.” I’ve always thought it’s more of a “life revealing” moment.

Having gone to India, Kenya and Ethiopia on mission trips, I always find God fanning into flame a mission passion. Maybe it wasn’t there before, and a change has happened. But I tend to think it was there and God revealed it in a more powerful way.

There are moments in life where God meets us and reveals our purpose. Leaders seek to bring out those moments in the lives of others. They will invite people to a new ministry, a book to read, a conference to attend, a mission trip to go on, or a verse to remember.

40 years ago I was confirmed at St. Paul Lutheran Church in Lakeland, Florida by Pastor Hingst. We were his last confirmation class before he retired. (False rumor that it was our class that drove him to retirement.) He had a custom of picking confirmation verses for his students. If he thought you should be a pastor, he gave you Romans 1:16 as your confirmation verse.

Yes, I got Romans 1:16. It was a life revealing moment. God had been working and would need to continue to work, but He was guiding me, calling me to what He put me here on this earth to do.

In reading through the Bible this year, I came to Romans 1:16I’m not ashamed of the Good News. It is God’s power to save everyone who believes, Jews first and Greeks as well.

I like the GOD’S WORD Translation, but perhaps because of its life revealing influence on my life. I like the Revised Standard Version of Romans 1:16 better as I heard Pastor Hingst read it on my confirmation day, “For I am not ashamed of the gospel: it is the power of God for salvation to every one who has faith, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.”

A great verse in my life, a life revealing one — when I was ordained at St. Paul’s years later, it was the message text. And when I preached my 1st sermon as a real deal pastor, it was the 1st text I used.

Romans 1:16 not only revealed life, it continues to drive my life. I have discovered this power of God for salvation, and love to watch the transforming work He continues to do.

How about you, what are some life revealing moments and verses that continue to drive your life?

1 Comment

Filed under Leadership in the Bible

One response to “Romans 1:16 A Life Revealing Verse

  1. Pingback: So Much Change, or Too Little? | God's Grace, ftw.

Leave a Reply

