5 Reasons Why I Want to Write a Blog and How It Might Benefit Both of Us

So why start a blog? What’s the purpose?

1. To build others up. Ephesians 4:29 says, “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” That verse has become a checkpoint in my leadership. When I am wise and follow its advice and build others up according to their needs, I find leadership working at a high octane, high value pace.

2. To clarify my thinking in being a leader. Writing is one way to untangle thoughts. Writing forces clarity, choosing one word over another. Composition how this idea fits with that idea, how this concept plays out with that concept. Blogging provides a place for that to happen as thoughts turn into ideas, ideas into plans, and plans into specific ways to build lives now and for eternity.

Image: Thanks to Paul / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

3. To explore the role of faith and leadership. Both faith and leadership and their connection to each other is a passion of mine. Blogging provides a place to focus that interaction, a place to let ideas incubate, to hopefully get good feedback from others in how they relate to one another. Both faith and leadership are also key to leading a life of influence whether you are a CEO or a mechanic, a parent or a child. We all have influence, therefore we all have areas of leadership.

4. To share resources. I sift through a lot of information, and discover great resources along the way. I will come across a great idea or a free book, and I think others need to know about this good stuff. I wanted to find a vehicle that would help me share that with others — family, friends, congregation, other leaders. At times I have done this through e-blasts, but the shotgun approach is not always the most effective. With a blog, there is greater focus and greater opportunity to access this information, and to learn from each other.

5. To become a better writer / communicator. Best way I have heard to become a better writer is to write and to read. I have the reading part down. I need to improve that writing skill. I tend to write like I speak, which as a pastor is good for laying out messages. I hope overtime my writing improves, even more that its benefit to others grows.

I hope you will join me on the journey and provide some good feedback not only for my benefit but for the benefit of others. Together let us learn together the great truths about leading that God wants to share with us. So what would you like to learn about leading today?

1 Comment

Filed under Blogs

One response to “5 Reasons Why I Want to Write a Blog and How It Might Benefit Both of Us

  1. Pingback: 5 Lessons Experience Taught Me in My 1st Year of Blogging | Richard Burkey

Leave a Reply

